An independent Human Rights Commission headed by Justice (R) Durab Patel, was established in 1993. After the election in 1993, the Human Rights Commission was converted into a cell in the Ministry of Interior to deal with Human Rights issues. The cell was transferred to Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs in 1994. In 1995, the Government of Pakistan established a full-fledged Ministry of Human Rights. After one year, the Ministry of Human Rights was merged with Ministry of Law, Justice & Parliamentary Affairs in 1996. It continued its functions as a wing. It was again upgraded in 2007 as Human Rights Division. In 2008 this Division attained the status of a full- fledged Ministry of Human Rights. After devolution, some subjects of the erstwhile Ministry of Women Development were transferred to Ministry of Human Rights on 1st July, 2011. In 2013, Ministry was again merged as a Wing with Ministry of Law and Justice. On 23rd November 2015, the Wing was birfurcated from Ministry of Law and Justice as a seprate Ministry of Human Rights. Currently, the Human Rights Division has following offices/sub-offices:

  • Four Regional Offices (Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar and Quetta).
  • National Commission for Child Welfare and Development (NCCWD)
  • Shaheed Benazir Bhutto Crises Centre for Women, Islamabad (SBBCCW)
  • National Child Protection Center, Islamabad. (NCPC)

In addition, the Ministry is also coordinating on various matters with two Commissions i.e. National Commission for Human Rights (NCHR) and National Commission on the Status of Women (NCSW).